Sunday, April 17, 2011

Negative Plane - Stained Glass Revelations (2011)

I was really excited to get this album earlier in the year and it hasn't let me down at all. I meant to review it earlier, but better late than never.

Though it's definitely gotten better every time I've listened to it, my first thought was that it would be perfect for some sort of unholy mass, or at least an out of doors satanic ritual with lots of naked people covered in blood roasting an ox on a spit and sacrificing goats. White goats.

Anyway, if you're unfamiliar with Negative Plane, they're U.S. black metal (New York by way of Florida), though just calling them black metal would be unfair. There are plenty of other elements at work and this album presents even more complex musicianship than their first, amazing album "Et In Saecula Saeculorum." This is their second full length and was released by the AJNA Offensive.

Though it is black metal, there are a lot of chaotic and psychedelic elements. There's also a touch of the '70's, like if Jacula was put through some kind of crazy black metal filter. It definitely defies categorization in the best way possible. The raspy vocals are a little thrashy, as are some of their guitars. Both this and "Saecula" have sleazy, dirty production values that I love. Definitely evil and bizarre album that you should listen to if you like unique black metal. At the least, check out "The One and the Many," which might be my favorite track on the album. There's something about bells in black metal that really gets me.

Track list:
1. The Fall
2. Lamentations & Ashes
3. Angels Of Veiled Bone
4. The Third Hour
5. The One And The Many
6. Charnel Spirit
7. All Souls
8. The Number Of The Word
9. Stained Glass Reflections
10. Stained Glass Revelations

This album comes HIGHLY recommended. Listen it to it, then please buy it.

No comments:

Post a Comment